Suburban development began when the trolley network from Springfield reached the town in 1896. Longmeadow experienced rapid growth as Springfield’s development pushed southward through the Forest Park area. Almost all residential construction has been of single-family home, most of which were built after World War II. A commercial area along Bliss Road features specialty boutiques and general merchandise stores. Since 1970, the Town’s population has remained relatively stable.
Longmeadow’s rich history is exemplified by the Simon Colton House, the Town Hall and the Storrs House. Long Meddowe Days, the annual town festival, includes a parade, arts and crafts exhibits, musical and dance performances, and the re-enactment of a Revolutionary brigade mustering on the Green.
There is an extensive system of parks in Longmeadow. The 320 acres Fannie Stebbins Memorial Wildlife Refuge is located along the Connecticut River. The Pioneer Valley Yacht Club offers sailing enthusiasts nearby recreation on the River as well. Bay Path College, a noted women’s school, provides Liberal Arts and professional training to approximately 550 students. The highly regarded Willie Ross School for the Deaf, Yeshiva Academy, and St. Mary’s Academy are also located in Longmeadow.